Skip to main content

Blog entry by Collins Emmanuel

Simplified: Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

Simplified: Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

Software Development Life Cycle (Basis Of SDLC)

SDLC refers to a method with distinctly defined processes for creating high-quality software.
It has a detailed focus on the following phases of software development, namely:

1. Requirement Analysis
2. Planning
3. Software design such as architectural design
4. Software development
5. Testing
6. Deployment

SDLC is a process whereby software of top qualities are produced, with a very minimal cost within a very short time frame. It provides an articulate flow of phases that helps an organization to efficiently and effectively produce a top-notch software that is tested and also ready for production.

How the Software Development Life Cycle works:

SDLC works by mitigating the cost of software development while at the same time improving quality and reducing production time. It is able to achieve this different goals through following a carefully thought out plan that removes the typical loopholes of software development projects. The plan usually starts by accessing existing systems for shortfalls.

The next thing it does is to check the requisite of the new system, after which it creates the software through the stages of analysis, planning, design, development, testing, and deployment. By foreseeing grave mistakes like failing to ask the client for feedback, SLDC can eliminate unwanted rework and after-the-fact fixes.

Stages and Best Practices.

Following the best practices and stages of SDLC  ensures the process works in a smooth, efficient and productive way.

1. Identify the Current Problems:

This stage includes identifying problems and getting feedback's from stakeholders, customers etc. Learn about the positive and negative of the current system with the aim of making improvements.

2. Plan:
This stage deals with the feasibility and intensive planning where the team determines the cost and also the resources required for implementing the analyzed requirements. It also takes a look at the risks involved and provides alternatives for mitigating those risks.

3. Design:
This is a crucial stage of the SDLC where software specifications are turned into a design plan called Design Specification. Suggestions and plans are collected at this stage, and they're also reviewed thoroughly because failure at this stage will definitely result in cost overruns and probably a collapse of the entire project.

4. Build:
This is the stage where development starts. There's a wholesome agreement, and every developer sticks to the agreed blueprint. Every guidelines specified must be followed to avoid confusion and inconsistent delivery of prototype.

5. Code Test:
This is the stage where software testing is done to check for errors limitations, and then this errors are worked on until the original provisions are met.  

6. Software Deployment:
This is the stage where the developed software are deployed to the production environment so that users may start using the product. However, it can also be referred to as the staging phase where the product is not directly available for the end-user, rather the stakeholders and a selected sample of users are allowed to test the product repeatedly to check for final errors/mistakes before it is released to the end-user.

Some Of The Most Common SDLC Examples

1. Waterfall Model :
The oldest and most uncomplicated SDLC model. This philosophy of this model is to finish one phase and then start the next. Every phase has its own blueprint, and each phase "waterfalls" into the next.
The significant drawback of this model is that any incomplete details left (no matter how insignificant it is) can disrupt the entire process.

2. Agile Model:
This SDLC model splits the products into series and delivers a functioning products rapidly. The method brings out a progression of releases. Feedback's gotten from any releases is adapted into the next release version.
The drawback of this model is that the attention on end-users reaction sometimes lead the project in a wrong way.

3. Iterative Model :
This SDLC model is built-on repetition. Products are created swiftly for little cost, and then tested. Improvements are made via quick and following versions.

4. V-Shaped Model:
This SDLC model is a waterfall extension. The method tests at various stages of the development, just like waterfall, there's every tendency for this process to encounter roadblocks.

5. Big Bang Model:
This model has a very risky approach because it uses most of its assets at the development stage, and its best suitable for small projects. It has several drawbacks as it does not have the tight requirements definition stage of the aforementioned models.

Benefits of the SDLC

SDLC has several benefits namely:

1. It allows for the highest level of management control and documentation.

2. There's a plan which allows developers to know what they should develop and the reason for its development.

3. There's a mutual agreement on the goal because there's a clear blueprint for achieving these goals.

4. The costs and resources required are spelt out for everyone's understand. 


  • Share